City slicker…

Hi all. Hope your Monday was grrrrrreat!!! Well I have exciting news – firstly I lost my first tooth yesterday (a bottom canine!) and secondly I’ve been on a road trip!!!! Yep mum and dad decided to get out of the city and visit some of dad’s family south of the border in New South Wales.

I’ve decided I officially LOVE road-trips (…well along with farms that is!). Tonight I thought I’d post some pics of our first stop – dad’s sister’s family’s farm where I went on a crazy all-terrain romp with the family!!  It was VERY COOL I can tell you. I even met some real life working dogs!!  Anyway let’s walk you through Part 1 of my great road-trip adventure…

As you can see, I was so self-conscious of my city slicker image (I seriously had no credibility with those hard-workin’ farm dogs…) that I did my best to blend into the long grass. Unfortunately my ears seriously undermined the effect…earlier I’d tried to hide behind a gum tree – but that didn’t work too well either…

So I resigned myself to giving up on hiding or blending in and just reveling in the pure pleasure of running in the wide open grassy spaces…

…NO CONCRETE FOR MILES!!!

Before too long I was completely worn out from playing chasing games (thank you Kate!!!) so I thought it was time to just quietly contemplate my surroundings…

That was until I spotted those cows…but of course I was on my best behaviour  – and I didn’t want to give us urban hounds a bad rep so I just chilled and pretended seeing cows was just a routine part of every city dawgs day…ho hum… (I SAW COWS PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! REAL LIVE COWS!!!!!!!!! YIPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEE!!!!!)

After getting over the excitement of the cows it was time to negotiate the clay bog…now this was SUPER FANTASTIC…of course I pretended to be disgusted…

But secretly it brought me unbridled joy to race around like a maniac up to my elbows in gooey mud! I mean seriously people… what’s not to love!?

Just when I thought thought all of these adventures couldn’t be outdone…

We came across a dam!!!!

Unfortunately there were no ducks around…

But I decided to go in anyway…

Besides…there were sticks to be retrieved…

And not just any sticks…

Really big sticks!!

After half an hour swimming in the dam it started to get a bit chilly…

So we decided it was time to head for home…

On the way home I finally met the crew who look after the farm…this is Tess… super friendly and the hardest worker – she’s a short haired border collie…

And here’s Bell, a red kelpie…still young and a bit hyper like me…and last but not least is…

The beautiful and shy Bonnie. After meeting the hounds it was time to retire to the house…

Where of course I indulged in behaviour fitting of any self-respecting hound post-swim…a manouvre I fondly refer to as the “as close to indoors as possible shake…”. (In case you were wondering this move is deliberately designed to soak to the skin any misguided souls intending to give me a good scrub!!)

Clearly offended by the glorious stench of stagnated dam water, the family then decided I need to be banished to the laundry tub I not-so-fondly refer to as THE BATH (sigh)…

…where I endured being scrubbed by well meaning humans who had no idea they were removing the last remnants of any hope I had to convince those hardy workin’ dogs I wasn’t a primped, preened, perfumed and manicured pedigree pooch…

Postscript: Okay okay I admit it – I did wear a little fleece jacket on the farm at night, and I did sleep in the farm-house in my bed on my lambskin rug, and I did sneak onto the real bed at one stage when the electric blanklet was on and the folks weren’t looking – but it was seriously cold down there people – anyway shhhhh….!!!!! Pleasssssssseeeee don’t tell those country dogs…you know the ones that were sleeping outside all night…as far as they know I was roughin’ it on the front verandah – and there’s no reason they should be any the wiser, okay? OKAY?????!!!!!OKAY PEOPLE?????!!!!!!!!!

© Beatrice Bella Fauve and Bella Vizsla, 2010.

Comments are closed.

